New Moon Tribal School of Bellydance

~

from

Ustadza Azra

the

director

~

I grew up listening to stories told by my mom about life across the ocean. My mom spoke of the food, her siblings, and the struggle to balance the future with tradition. One of the stories I loved to hear about was the dance. My mom told me about family gatherings where women of all ages would roll their bellies, sway their hips and simply have a good time doing a dance most people would refer to as bellydancing.

Living in America, far away from my grandfather’s side of the family, had removed all thoughts of ever being able to be part of those stories. It was not until my 20s when I decided to really explore bellydance after seeing Troupe Salamat perform during a New Year’s Eve celebration. I realized, after watching those women dance together with such joy and capturing the audience’s attention with their strong but fluid movements, that this was what would allow me to live the dream.

I dived into the dance attending classes and traveling to workshops until I became a performing member of the troupe and the Assistant Director.

Since that time I have studied a variety of bellydance styles which helped foster an appreciation and respect for the many faces of bellydance whether they follow the tribal, cabaret or folkloric path.

Now as the Director of New Moon Tribal Bellydance I have the privilege of being the first point of contact for students entering our bellydance world.  I offer Level 1 through 3 Tribal and Vintage bellydance classes in Prescott, Arizona at Lotus Bloom Yoga Studio.

~

http://newmoontribal.com

~

compliments of Rawclyde

!

About Rawclyde!

I have employed a few pen names throughout the years. Rawclyde with an exclamation mark (!) is the one too sticky to go away... Came of age at Crawford High, San Diego, CA ~ writing sports, a column, & playing football ~ graduated in '68... Attended SDSU for a couple years... Hit the road in a '56 Chevy milk-truck, a "studymobile," filling up notebooks & working as a laborer in the southwest... Practiced the genteel art of fiction for several years in my hometown... Enlisted in the U.S. Army ~ they made me a newsman in Hawaii ~ wrote another column for a while... Attended more courses at SDSU ~ studied novel writing with Professor Charlie Brashers... Sold books out of an '85 Ford one-ton van, a "book mule," in the desert... Did some writing in an old hotel in Prescott AZ... Have written & self-published 9 or so books ~ many of which are hiding out on the cyber highway...
This entry was posted in love peace and freedom and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

