Road Kill On The Cyber Highway

~~~

Let us pray…

~~~

     Yours truly does not enjoy finding dead dogs on the side of the highway when I’m walking along.  I try not to splatter the remains of armidillo casualties as I drive along.  I’ve never bumped a deer caught in my headlights & I hope I never do.  But accidents ocurr and it’s good for the buzzards, which are pretty harmless & graceful janitors along the byways of our hydrocarbon society.  And, of course, thank goodness for the Highway Patrol & Rescue 8 ~ who clean-up the human messes.

     Accidents occur on the cyber highway also, where we are all presently driving our Model-T websites & blogs in a new age.  I, for one, sometimes get confused & my percerption isn’t always keen & my remarks aren’t always dapper.  I try to be humane & with manners.  But…

     A fellow blogger did me an extreme favor by writing what I consider a stunning critique of a short novel I wrote many years ago & that I recently installed on the internet.  When I didn’t reply right away to her critique she accused me of not caring what she thought & wanted the critique deleted.  I had the reply written but not yet had a chance to install it on ye olde blog.  I wouldn’t delete her critique, published my reply to it, and instead deleted her request to have the critique done away.  I tried to be as diplomatic as possible.  She magnanomously forgave me & we’ve been getting along ~ that is, until now.

     Her new gravatar confused me.  She’s one hell of a photographer but it was bleary, purposefully maybe.  I thought in this new photo that she was a guy.  She was on vacation so didn’t reply right away to my astonishment, which I had expressed on her blog.  I realized after posting the comment that it was awkward but couldn’t do anything about it except, of course, stick my foot further into my mouth with another comment.  I was about to try a third patch-up job when I heard from her.  She wasn’t too happy about my mistaken perception and informed me.

     She’s now deleted her whole blog ~ which was somewhat of a masterpiece.  I do not take full credit for this, if any.  There must have been extenuating circumstances.  At any rate, if I ran over her, it was an accident.

     And I’m sorry her blog is gone.

~~~

About Rawclyde!

I have employed a few pen names throughout the years. Rawclyde with an exclamation mark (!) is the one too sticky to go away... Came of age at Crawford High, San Diego, CA ~ writing sports, a column, & playing football ~ graduated in '68... Attended SDSU for a couple years... Hit the road in a '56 Chevy milk-truck, a "studymobile," filling up notebooks & working as a laborer in the southwest... Practiced the genteel art of fiction for several years in my hometown... Enlisted in the U.S. Army ~ they made me a newsman in Hawaii ~ wrote another column for a while... Attended more courses at SDSU ~ studied novel writing with Professor Charlie Brashers... Sold books out of an '85 Ford one-ton van, a "book mule," in the desert... Did some writing in an old hotel in Prescott AZ... Have written & self-published 9 or so books ~ many of which are hiding out on the cyber highway...
This entry was posted in love peace and freedom and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Road Kill On The Cyber Highway

  1. Black and White Lipstick says:

    For someone to delete their master piece it would take more then words from another. Don’t kick yourself, she is not your road kill. You tried to be honest, you took your time in replying assesing carefully whether or not to shine the high beam.

    Great post!

  2. wendywoo20 says:

    Stunning photograph.

  3. rawclyde009 says:

    Thanks for the “like” ēςkǻyǻi !

  4. EvilPoet says:

    “The reports of my death are greatly exaggerated.”
    -Mark Twain

    I’m still here just going about things differently.

    After my vacation I decided to get real serious about my photos – which is what I mean when I said there is more to life than the internet. Do you remember when I replied to you – starting from scratch is never a bad idea? It was awhile ago so if not I understand. As someone who likes to practice what she preaches I did just that! I started over – http://iamlostinthot.tumblr.com

    Now, I would have mentioned all this before when I first got back from my vacation but you insulted me and pissed me off so I wasn’t real motivated to do so. Little did I know you would make a whole post about my supposed death!

  5. Certain you were not the precipitating factor. She will quite possibly reinvent herself yet again.

Leave a Reply

